Wednesday, 5 March 2014

TUSC candidates for May's local elections (The first 183) SOURCE

THE FIRST 183 Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition (TUSC) candidates for May's local elections have been agreed by the TUSC national steering committee at its meeting last Wednesday.
The candidates cover 43 of the 160 English councils with elections on May 22nd.
In addition three mayoral candidates - Chris Flood, Lois Austin and Hugo Pierre - were agreed for contests being held on the same day for, respectively, the mayors of Lewisham, Newham and Tower Hamlets.
Clive Heemskerk, the TUSC National Election Agent, told the meeting that "with eight weeks left until nominations close TUSC is well on course to have the biggest trade union and socialist based left-of-Labour challenge in local elections since the immediate aftermath of world war two.
"However, while some local TUSC groups are holding back their candidate application forms until details of wards being contested - or who will be the local agents - are sorted out, it's vital that these issues are resolved and applications sent in as soon as possible. The lists won't close until official nominations do - on April 24th - so new candidates coming forward can always be added. But we need as much information as possible now.
"During March the BBC, on behalf of all broadcasting authorities, will be preparing its local elections coverage guidelines. To guarantee receiving what they call 'balanced media coverage', previously parties have needed to contest 15% of the seats up for election - 625 this time.
"The TUSC national steering committee needs a clear idea of candidate numbers as soon as possible so that we can then enter into negotiations with the BBC".
To apply to be a TUSC local election candidate in 2014, complete the council candidate authorisation application form available on the Candidates page of the TUSC website at

Regional breakdown of candidates so far



New Town ward Paul Simmons


Eye & Thorney Carl Harper; Fletton & Woodston John Lloyd; Orton Longueville Mary Cooke; Orton Waterville Steve Cawley; Park Geoff Eagle


Bandley Hill Amanda Dilley; Bedwell Steve Glennon; Chells Mark Pickersgill; Longmeadow Helen Kerr; Roebuck Bryan Clare; Shephall Barbara Clare; St Nicholas Mark Gentleman; Symonds Green Trevor Palmer

St Albans & District

Clarence Keith Hussey

East Midlands


Alveston Charlie Taylor


Barking & Dagenham

Thames Ruth Mason; Thames Pete Mason


Kensal Green John Boyle; Kilburn Isabel Counihan-Sanchez; Preston Paul Summers; Wembley Central Rachel Dickson


Cray Valley East Steven Cope


Gospel Oak John Reid; West Hampstead David Pearce


Thornton Heath Glen Hart; Selhurst Eleanor Haven


Acton Central Sharon Dixon; Dormers Wells Mark Benjamin; East Acton Ravi Patel


Southbury John Dolan


Brownswood Tom Rubens; Chatham Margaret Trotter; De Beauvoir Chris Newby; Hoxton East & Shoreditch Paul Mattsson; Hoxton West Jon Hughes


Harringay David Kaplan; Northumberland Park Ibrahim Avcil; Stroud Green Nick Auvache


Brunel Derek Marsdon; Brunel Timothy Aviss; Brunel Anthony McGill; Cavendish Paul Jackson; Charville Julia Leonard; Harefield Lisa Holt; Heathrow Villages Mohamed Abian; Northwood Hills Wally Kennedy; Northwood Hills Brian Jones; Uxbridge South Gary Harbord; Uxbridge South Zahra Asif; Uxbridge South Joanne Thorpe; Uxbridge North Rob Diment


Barnsbury Lesley Woodburn; Mildmay Omer Esen


Brockley Roger Shrives; Evelyn Andy Beadle; New Cross Susanna Farley; Telegraph Hill Chris Flood; Telegraph Hill Cheryl McLeod; Telegraph Hill James Kerr


Boleyn Bob Severn; East Ham Central Keerthikan; East Ham South Helen Pattison; Forest Gate South Hannah Sell; Green Street East Lois Austin; Green Street West Niall Mulholland; Plaistow South Ben Robinson


Camberwell Green James Ellis; East Walworth Magnus Dewsbury; Faraday Tracy Edwards; Grange Arti Dillon; Riverside Gary Kandinsky; South Bermondsey Bill Mullins


Sutton Central Steve Appleton; Sutton Central Pauline Gorman

Tower Hamlets

Blackwall & Cubbit Town John Peers; Bethnal Green Hugo Pierre; Bethnal Green Ellen Kenyon-Peers; Bromley North Daniel McGowan; Mile End Pete Dickenson; St Peter's Naomi Byron

Waltham Forest

Cathall Claire Laker-Mansfield; Cathall Russell Pennington; Chapel End Glenroy Watson; Chingford Green Martin Reynolds; Forest Adian Taylor; Forest Craig Guiste; Forest Patrick Brown; Grove Green Nancy Taaffe; Hale End & Highams Park Danny Byrne; Higham Hill Mike Cleverley; High Street Marvin Hay; Hoe Street Paul Bell; Larkswood Ian Pattison; Leyton Suzanne Beishon; Leytonstone Suzanne Muna; Valley Sarah Wrack; William Morris Paula Mitchell; Wood Street Steve Poole; Wood Street Lee Hawksbee



Deckham Norman Hall; High Fell Elaine Brunskill


Ouseburn Robert Hooper; Walker Bobbie Cranney

North Tyneside

Weetslade Lynne Sample


Washington East Wilfred Laws

North West


Central Daren Ireland; Tuebrook & Stoneycroft Craig Pearson


Deeplish & Milkstone Dawud Islam


Netherton & Orrell Pete Glover



Cosham Adi Graham


Bargate Neil Kelly; Bevois Andrew Howe; Bitterne Declan Clune; Bitterne Park Linda Collimore; Coxford Cllr Keith Morrell; Millbrook Josh Asker; Peartree Phil Snider; Portswood Nick Chaffey; Redbridge Kieran Wilson; Shirley Gary Laxton; Sholing Perry McMillan; Swaythling Kev Hayes; Woolston Sue Atkins


St Barnabas Adam Freeman

South West


Bedminster Robin Clapp; Brislington East Matt Gordon; Filwood Mike Luff; Hartcliffe Rob Nash; Henbury David Rawlings; Kingsweston Caroline Vincent; Knowle Domenico Hill; Lockleaze Roger Thomas; Southville Matt Carey; Stockwood Phil Bishop; Windmill Hill Tom Baldwin


Hesters Way Andrew Causon

West Midlands


Acocks Green Eamon Flynn; Bordesley Green Theo Shareiff-Winston; Erdington Joe Foster; Shard End Kenny Marks; Sheldon Mark Andrews; South Yardley Siobhan Friel; Stockland Green Ted Woodley


Kidsgrove Rebecca Carter; Silverdale & Parksite Richard Steele; Wolstanton Stephen Wheeler


Benn Bill Smith; Bilton Steve Roberts; Eastlands Rob Johnson; Rokeby & Overslade Julie Weekes; Wolston & the Lawfords Pete McLaren


Bedwardine Pete McNally



High Harrogate Paul Viney


Armley Iain Dalton; Bramley Kevin Pattison


Boston Castle Chris Bingham; Hellaby Shaun Barratt; Holderness Paul Marshall; Maltby Cllr Joe Robinson; Rother Vale Neil Adshead


Arbourthorne Alan Munro; Beauchief & Greenhill Terry Murphy; Broomhill Richard Brown; Central Dan Celardi; Crookes Nick Hall; Fulwood Chris McAndrew; Gleadless Valley Liz Morton; Hillsborough Wyllie Hume; Manor Castle Alistair Tice; Mosborough Ian Whitehouse; Netheredge James Williams; Richmond Sam Morecroft; Stannington Jeremy Short; Walkley Chaz Lockett


Horbury & South Ossett John Vasey; Pontefract North Dan Dearden; Wakefield East Mick Griffiths; Wakefield North Adrian O'Malley; Wakefield Rural Sam Lynch; Wakefield South John Sibbald

1 comment:

Comment is open to all feel free to link to this blog.