Tuesday 25 June 2013


 UPDATE 07/09/2013

Bill Walker finally resigns www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-24004675

The Council results in 2012 in the 4 wards making up the Scottish Parliamentary seat 

Lab 9484
SNP 5336
LDem 3841
Con 1628
Others 1457


An MSP has pled not guilty to 24 charges of assaulting women over a period of three decades.
Bill Walker, 71, appeared at Edinburgh Sheriff Court accused of physically assaulting four women between January 1967 and January 1995.
The former SNP politician's trial was set for 8 July.
Prosecutors allege that Mr Walker abused the women at addresses in Edinburgh, Stirling, Midlothian and Alloa.
Mr Walker has claimed self defence for three of the charges.
He is alleged to have assaulted Maureen Traquair, Anne Walker, Anne Louise Paterson and Diana Walker.
The independent MSP, who sits for Dunfermline in the Scottish Parliament, denied all charges.
Mr Walker, from Alloa, was elected as an SNP MSP in 2011. He was expelled from the party in April, but has appealed against that decision

Scottish Parliament election, 2011: Dunfermline
Party Candidate Votes % ±%

SNP Bill Walker 11,010 37.6 +13.5

Labour Alex Rowley 10,420 35.6 +2.7

Liberal Democrats Jim Tolson 5,776 19.7 -13.5

Conservative James Reekie 2,093 7.1 -1.2
Majority 590 2
Turnout 29299 52.5

SNP gain from Liberal Democrats Swing +5.4
Scottish Parliament election, 2007 Notional Result: Dunfermline
Party Candidate Votes % ±%

Liberal Democrats
9,030 33.2

8,953 32.9

6,553 24.1

2,277 8.4

406 1.5
Majority 77 0.3

Liberal Democrats hold Swing

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comment is open to all feel free to link to this blog.